Skip to content

Mode of Faith

December 22, 2009

Mode of Faith

“The just shall live by his faith”

Habakkuk watches, with considerable heartache and confusion, as the nation of Judah is being crushed by a relentless foe.  This naturally provokes a series of questions. “Our LORD, how long must I beg for your help before you listen?” (Habakkuk 1:2 CEV)

Have you ever asked that type of question?  My nation is being plundered and decimated right in front of me and nothing seems to be moving favorably for the righteous, the Lord’s remnant.  Injustice is all around, sneering with condescending disregard.  Questions are arising in the man of God as his convictions are stirred.  Illustrated in this conversation is proof that men of faith have a place where they can ask valid questions.  Clarification was the intent.

Have you ever asked a valid question and received a seemingly absurd response?  “Look among the nations and watch-be utterly astounded!  For I will work a work in your days which you would not believe, though it were told you.  For indeed I am raising up the Chaldeans, a bitter and hasty nation…” (Habakkuk 1:5-6)

What?  How does bringing in another vile opponent fix the problem?  God, are you meeting nasty with nasty?  The dots are not connecting for me.  What do you do when the dots don’t connect?  I love this man’s response.  In chapter 2 he says, “I will stand my watch and set myself on the rampart, and watch to see what He will say to me, and what I will answer when I am corrected.”  I will place myself here until I hear your word!  This is the difference for most when faced with uncertainty.  Impossibility creates opportunity for faith to explode with supernatural potential!  The right questions with the right response created this brilliant conclusion:

Though the fig tree should not blossom,

nor fruit be on the vines,

the produce of the olive fail

and the fields yield no food,

the flock be cut off from the fold

and there be no herd in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in the LORD;

I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

GOD, the Lord, is my strength;

He makes my feet like the deer’s;

He makes me tread on my high places. (Habakkuk 3:17-19)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 8:24 pm

    SO good! Selah on that!

Leave a Reply

